Mother's bracelet help please

Mollie
New User

May 10, 2005, 10:56 AM

Post #1 of 5 (10097 views)
Shortcut
Private Reply
Mother's bracelet help please Can't Post

Hi, I am new to beading and just love the Mother's bracelets. I was wondering if anyone had tips on:
1. if you use the 4.5 mm letter blocks, what size spacer rondelle would look the best in between the letters, what size rounds would look the best in the designs, what size bicones, and what size bali daisies spacers.
2. The same question would apply to the 5.5 mm letter blocks.

I am ready to get started, order my beads, make some gifts, maybe some $$$$Smile.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Mollie

pugdog
Administrator

May 11, 2005, 11:46 AM

Post #2 of 5 (10081 views)
Shortcut
Private Reply
Re: [Mollie] Mother's bracelet help please [In reply to] Can't Post

With the 5.5, 6mm bicones and 6-8mm rounds look the best. You can vary the sizes for interesting looks. Rondelles don't look really good between the cubes, IMHO, they need some sort of wiggle room, and that requires a "round" shape.

With the 4.5mm sizes, 5mm rounds work, but you need to check if the 4mm bicones are too small to fit between without falling inside.

If you stick with the birthstone colors, you'll do better.

People want to put birthstones (either the childs or parents) in the bracelets.

If you just want colors, what I tell my customers is you can never go wrong with clear crystal, "pink", amethyst, pierdot, or garnet.
PUGDOG's Rock & Bead Shop
Pittsburgh, PA 15217

Mollie
New User

May 13, 2005, 6:45 AM

Post #3 of 5 (10075 views)
Shortcut
Private Reply
Re: [pugdog] Mother's bracelet help please [In reply to] Can't Post

SmileSmileSmileThank you so much. I agree about the rounds in between the letters. I think I am ready to begin. I have gone to some bead shops near me and find the selection absolutely can not compare to the www.
Where do you order from, if you don't mind my asking?

Again, thanks for responding.